Register
Medicines reference
Active substance

Polyporus umbellatus

Medicinal mushroom extract. Not applicable (not a medicine). Forms: capsule.

Dose and use

Doses

We have no dose with a cited source for this substance yet.

Before use

Safety information

No sourced safety entry is currently shown. This does not mean the substance is risk-free.

Latin name
Polyporus umbellatus
Georgian name
პოლიპორუს უმბელატუსი
Authorisation status
Complementary feed / supplement
Not a medicine and not required to be authorised as one - it is sold under feed law.
Registered in Georgia
0 of 1 forms
Products
Controlled in Georgia
No
Checked against the narcotics law, Annex 1, lists I-IV, and Order No. 22/n.
Verified on: 16 Oct 2026
All forms and registration1

Registration in Georgia and abroad: the register, number, validity and source are behind (i).

Nefroloxan 60 capsules, Capsule

complementary feed for dogs and cats
vetman assessment
vetman’s 10-point assessment brings together a product’s regulatory credibility, clinical efficacy, safety and practicality. Cost-effectiveness is assessed only when reliable data are available. It is informational and does not replace a veterinarian’s clinical judgment for an individual patient.
Dog Optional adjunctive dietary support after diagnosis and stage-specific management of renal or upper-urinary disease
4.3/10
Weak evidence support
vetman assessment

Nefroloxan

60 capsules, complementary feed for dogs and cats
Assessed clinical scopeDog · Optional adjunctive dietary support after diagnosis and stage-specific management of renal or upper-urinary disease · By mouth
Care settingVeterinarian-directed home adjunct alongside IRIS-aligned diagnosis, treatment and objective monitoring
vetman score 4.3/10 Weak evidence support
Evidence confidence: Low Georgia: Not a medicine · Verified on 22 Oct 2026

A convenient complementary feed with no demonstrated patient-level renal benefit. It may be an optional monitored adjunct, never a substitute for staged CKD care; exact rounding and fractional-content handling remain unresolved.

Regulatory and scientific credibility4.0/10

Exact category, manufacturer, ingredients and current directions are identifiable, but there is no medicine-style dossier, accessible batch assay or exact-product trial. Ingredient quantities, non-10-kg rounding and fractional-content uniformity are not established.

Clinical efficacy2.0/10

New canine/feline renal-cell findings are biologically relevant but in vitro and explicitly require in-vivo validation. No exact-product CKD, upper-urinary, renal-function, quality-of-life or survival study was located.

Safety and tolerability4.5/10

A healthy-dog Ganoderma study found no major overall-health signal, but it is not this product. Exact-product repeated-dose safety, CKD-stage subgroups, interactions and reproductive data are absent; non-target Polyporus toxicology is mixed, including an in-vitro clastogenic signal of uncertain relevance.

Clinical practicality8.0/10

Once-daily capsules can be given whole or opened into food/water and are described as flavourless and odourless. Unspecified rounding for non-10-kg weights and unvalidated fractional contents prevent a higher score and automatic calculation.

Full-course cost-effectiveness-

The current Polish retail price is not substituted for an exact Georgian course cost, and an evidence-based duration is undefined; cost is excluded.

Important safety and use flags

  • This is a complementary feed, not a medicine. Medicine-authorisation status is not applicable; that category does not prove clinical efficacy, purity or medicine-equivalent safety.
  • Optional adjunct only. Do not replace IRIS staging, renal diet, hydration or management of blood pressure, proteinuria, phosphate, anaemia, acidosis, potassium and uraemic signs.
  • No exact-product dog/cat clinical-outcome, pharmacokinetic, bioavailability or repeated-dose target-animal safety study was located.
  • The 2026 dog/cat renal-cell findings are in vitro. Suppression of selected fibrosis-related genes does not prove preserved renal function, improved quality of life or survival and requires in-vivo validation.
  • The current manufacturer direction is one capsule per 10 kg once daily, but non-10-kg rounding is not specified. Keep the label wording visible and do not expose an automatic calculator rule.
  • Do not create fractional-capsule doses without validated content uniformity after opening and division. Whole or fully opened capsule administration is supported; estimated portions are not.
  • Non-target Polyporus toxicology is mixed: an in-vitro chromosomal-aberration signal occurred despite negative bacterial-mutation and in-vivo micronucleus tests. Relevance to Nefroloxan, dogs or cats is unknown.
  • Review polypharmacy and gastrointestinal tolerance. Mushroom and hibiscus interaction magnitude in dogs/cats with CKD is not established; “natural” does not mean interaction-free.
  • Monitor clinical status, weight, appetite, hydration, creatinine/SDMA, urinalysis/UPC, blood pressure, phosphate/electrolytes and stage-specific endpoints rather than supplement use alone.
  • Safety in pregnancy, lactation, neonates and severe or unstable renal/hepatic disease is not established. Use only after an individual benefit-risk review.
Assessment sources
Assessed: 22 Oct 2026The overall score uses 25/25/25/15/10 weights. An unassessed price is excluded and the remaining weights are proportionally renormalised.
Cat Optional adjunctive dietary support after diagnosis and stage-specific management of renal or upper-urinary disease
4.1/10
Weak evidence support
vetman assessment

Nefroloxan

60 capsules, complementary feed for dogs and cats
Assessed clinical scopeCat · Optional adjunctive dietary support after diagnosis and stage-specific management of renal or upper-urinary disease · By mouth
Care settingVeterinarian-directed home adjunct alongside IRIS-aligned diagnosis, treatment and objective monitoring
vetman score 4.1/10 Weak evidence support
Evidence confidence: Low Georgia: Not a medicine · Verified on 22 Oct 2026

A convenient complementary feed with mechanistic but no feline clinical-outcome evidence. Absent feline safety exposure and unresolved rounding/fraction handling keep it a weak optional adjunct rather than established CKD therapy.

Regulatory and scientific credibility4.0/10

Exact category, manufacturer, ingredients and current directions are identifiable, but there is no medicine-style dossier, accessible batch assay or exact-product trial. Ingredient quantities, non-10-kg rounding and fractional-content uniformity are not established.

Clinical efficacy2.0/10

New canine/feline renal-cell findings are biologically relevant but in vitro and explicitly require in-vivo validation. No exact-product CKD, upper-urinary, renal-function, quality-of-life or survival study was located.

Safety and tolerability4.0/10

No cat-specific clinical exposure or repeated-dose safety exists. Exact-product CKD-stage, interaction, reproductive and severe-disease data are absent; non-target Polyporus toxicology is mixed, including an in-vitro clastogenic signal of uncertain relevance.

Clinical practicality8.0/10

Once-daily capsules can be given whole or opened into food/water and are described as flavourless and odourless. Unspecified rounding for non-10-kg weights and unvalidated fractional contents prevent a higher score and automatic calculation.

Full-course cost-effectiveness-

The current Polish retail price is not substituted for an exact Georgian course cost, and an evidence-based duration is undefined; cost is excluded.

Important safety and use flags

  • This is a complementary feed, not a medicine. Medicine-authorisation status is not applicable; that category does not prove clinical efficacy, purity or medicine-equivalent safety.
  • Optional adjunct only. Do not replace IRIS staging, renal diet, hydration or management of blood pressure, proteinuria, phosphate, anaemia, acidosis, potassium and uraemic signs.
  • No exact-product dog/cat clinical-outcome, pharmacokinetic, bioavailability or repeated-dose target-animal safety study was located.
  • The 2026 dog/cat renal-cell findings are in vitro. Suppression of selected fibrosis-related genes does not prove preserved renal function, improved quality of life or survival and requires in-vivo validation.
  • The current manufacturer direction is one capsule per 10 kg once daily, but non-10-kg rounding is not specified. Keep the label wording visible and do not expose an automatic calculator rule.
  • Do not create fractional-capsule doses without validated content uniformity after opening and division. Whole or fully opened capsule administration is supported; estimated portions are not.
  • Non-target Polyporus toxicology is mixed: an in-vitro chromosomal-aberration signal occurred despite negative bacterial-mutation and in-vivo micronucleus tests. Relevance to Nefroloxan, dogs or cats is unknown.
  • Review polypharmacy and gastrointestinal tolerance. Mushroom and hibiscus interaction magnitude in dogs/cats with CKD is not established; “natural” does not mean interaction-free.
  • Monitor clinical status, weight, appetite, hydration, creatinine/SDMA, urinalysis/UPC, blood pressure, phosphate/electrolytes and stage-specific endpoints rather than supplement use alone.
  • Safety in pregnancy, lactation, neonates and severe or unstable renal/hepatic disease is not established. Use only after an individual benefit-risk review.
Assessment sources
Assessed: 22 Oct 2026The overall score uses 25/25/25/15/10 weights. An unassessed price is excluded and the remaining weights are proportionally renormalised.
Formulation Type
Capsule
Administration route
By mouth
Manufacturer
Registration
Georgia Not a medicine
Not applicable (not a medicine)
Verified on: 22 Oct 2026
EU Not a medicine
Not applicable (not a medicine)
Verified on: 22 Oct 2026
UK Not a medicine
Not applicable (not a medicine)
Verified on: 22 Oct 2026
US Not a medicine
Not applicable (not a medicine)
Verified on: 22 Oct 2026
Controlled in Georgia
No
Checked against the narcotics law, Annex 1, lists I-IV, and Order No. 22/n.
Verified on: 16 Oct 2026
Information not fully verified Optional adjunctive dietary support only after renal/upper-urinary diagnosis and stage-specific care. The current manufacturer direction is one capsule per 10 kg once daily. It does not state how to round non-10-kg weights or validate fractional capsule contents, so no automatic calculator dose is supplied. Capsules may be given whole or opened into food/water.

All of this shows in vetman as you prescribe

The dose for the patient's weight, registration in Georgia and controlled status, right on the prescription.