Register
Medicines reference
Active substance

Magnesium Carbonate

Mineral carrier (declared as an additive). Not applicable (not a medicine). Forms: capsule, suspension.

Dose and use

Doses

We have no dose with a cited source for this substance yet.

Before use

Safety information

Known Drug Interactions

  • Minor warning Oxytetracycline + Magnesium Carbonate
    Divalent and trivalent cations, including magnesium, iron, aluminium, and calcium, can chelate oxytetracycline and reduce its absorption. Do not give it at the same time as milk or antacids.
    Recommendation: Separate this medicine from oral oxytetracycline in time.
  • Minor warning Levothyroxine + Magnesium Carbonate
    Antacids containing aluminium, magnesium, or calcium, as well as ferrous sulfate and sucralfate, can reduce levothyroxine absorption.
    Recommendation: Separate levothyroxine from antacids, iron, or sucralfate by at least 2 hours.
Latin name
Magnesium Carbonate
Georgian name
მაგნიუმის კარბონატი
Authorisation status
Complementary feed / supplement
Not a medicine and not required to be authorised as one - it is sold under feed law.
Registered in Georgia
0 of 2 forms
Controlled in Georgia
No
Checked against the narcotics law, Annex 1, lists I-IV, and Order No. 22/n.
Verified on: 16 Oct 2026
All forms and registration2

Registration in Georgia and abroad: the register, number, validity and source are behind (i).

Nefroloxan 60 capsules, Capsule

complementary feed for dogs and cats
vetman assessment
vetman’s 10-point assessment brings together a product’s regulatory credibility, clinical efficacy, safety and practicality. Cost-effectiveness is assessed only when reliable data are available. It is informational and does not replace a veterinarian’s clinical judgment for an individual patient.
Dog Optional adjunctive dietary support after diagnosis and stage-specific management of renal or upper-urinary disease
4.3/10
Weak evidence support
vetman assessment

Nefroloxan

60 capsules, complementary feed for dogs and cats
Assessed clinical scopeDog · Optional adjunctive dietary support after diagnosis and stage-specific management of renal or upper-urinary disease · By mouth
Care settingVeterinarian-directed home adjunct alongside IRIS-aligned diagnosis, treatment and objective monitoring
vetman score 4.3/10 Weak evidence support
Evidence confidence: Low Georgia: Not a medicine · Verified on 22 Oct 2026

A convenient complementary feed with no demonstrated patient-level renal benefit. It may be an optional monitored adjunct, never a substitute for staged CKD care; exact rounding and fractional-content handling remain unresolved.

Regulatory and scientific credibility4.0/10

Exact category, manufacturer, ingredients and current directions are identifiable, but there is no medicine-style dossier, accessible batch assay or exact-product trial. Ingredient quantities, non-10-kg rounding and fractional-content uniformity are not established.

Clinical efficacy2.0/10

New canine/feline renal-cell findings are biologically relevant but in vitro and explicitly require in-vivo validation. No exact-product CKD, upper-urinary, renal-function, quality-of-life or survival study was located.

Safety and tolerability4.5/10

A healthy-dog Ganoderma study found no major overall-health signal, but it is not this product. Exact-product repeated-dose safety, CKD-stage subgroups, interactions and reproductive data are absent; non-target Polyporus toxicology is mixed, including an in-vitro clastogenic signal of uncertain relevance.

Clinical practicality8.0/10

Once-daily capsules can be given whole or opened into food/water and are described as flavourless and odourless. Unspecified rounding for non-10-kg weights and unvalidated fractional contents prevent a higher score and automatic calculation.

Full-course cost-effectiveness-

The current Polish retail price is not substituted for an exact Georgian course cost, and an evidence-based duration is undefined; cost is excluded.

Important safety and use flags

  • This is a complementary feed, not a medicine. Medicine-authorisation status is not applicable; that category does not prove clinical efficacy, purity or medicine-equivalent safety.
  • Optional adjunct only. Do not replace IRIS staging, renal diet, hydration or management of blood pressure, proteinuria, phosphate, anaemia, acidosis, potassium and uraemic signs.
  • No exact-product dog/cat clinical-outcome, pharmacokinetic, bioavailability or repeated-dose target-animal safety study was located.
  • The 2026 dog/cat renal-cell findings are in vitro. Suppression of selected fibrosis-related genes does not prove preserved renal function, improved quality of life or survival and requires in-vivo validation.
  • The current manufacturer direction is one capsule per 10 kg once daily, but non-10-kg rounding is not specified. Keep the label wording visible and do not expose an automatic calculator rule.
  • Do not create fractional-capsule doses without validated content uniformity after opening and division. Whole or fully opened capsule administration is supported; estimated portions are not.
  • Non-target Polyporus toxicology is mixed: an in-vitro chromosomal-aberration signal occurred despite negative bacterial-mutation and in-vivo micronucleus tests. Relevance to Nefroloxan, dogs or cats is unknown.
  • Review polypharmacy and gastrointestinal tolerance. Mushroom and hibiscus interaction magnitude in dogs/cats with CKD is not established; “natural” does not mean interaction-free.
  • Monitor clinical status, weight, appetite, hydration, creatinine/SDMA, urinalysis/UPC, blood pressure, phosphate/electrolytes and stage-specific endpoints rather than supplement use alone.
  • Safety in pregnancy, lactation, neonates and severe or unstable renal/hepatic disease is not established. Use only after an individual benefit-risk review.
Assessment sources
Assessed: 22 Oct 2026The overall score uses 25/25/25/15/10 weights. An unassessed price is excluded and the remaining weights are proportionally renormalised.
Cat Optional adjunctive dietary support after diagnosis and stage-specific management of renal or upper-urinary disease
4.1/10
Weak evidence support
vetman assessment

Nefroloxan

60 capsules, complementary feed for dogs and cats
Assessed clinical scopeCat · Optional adjunctive dietary support after diagnosis and stage-specific management of renal or upper-urinary disease · By mouth
Care settingVeterinarian-directed home adjunct alongside IRIS-aligned diagnosis, treatment and objective monitoring
vetman score 4.1/10 Weak evidence support
Evidence confidence: Low Georgia: Not a medicine · Verified on 22 Oct 2026

A convenient complementary feed with mechanistic but no feline clinical-outcome evidence. Absent feline safety exposure and unresolved rounding/fraction handling keep it a weak optional adjunct rather than established CKD therapy.

Regulatory and scientific credibility4.0/10

Exact category, manufacturer, ingredients and current directions are identifiable, but there is no medicine-style dossier, accessible batch assay or exact-product trial. Ingredient quantities, non-10-kg rounding and fractional-content uniformity are not established.

Clinical efficacy2.0/10

New canine/feline renal-cell findings are biologically relevant but in vitro and explicitly require in-vivo validation. No exact-product CKD, upper-urinary, renal-function, quality-of-life or survival study was located.

Safety and tolerability4.0/10

No cat-specific clinical exposure or repeated-dose safety exists. Exact-product CKD-stage, interaction, reproductive and severe-disease data are absent; non-target Polyporus toxicology is mixed, including an in-vitro clastogenic signal of uncertain relevance.

Clinical practicality8.0/10

Once-daily capsules can be given whole or opened into food/water and are described as flavourless and odourless. Unspecified rounding for non-10-kg weights and unvalidated fractional contents prevent a higher score and automatic calculation.

Full-course cost-effectiveness-

The current Polish retail price is not substituted for an exact Georgian course cost, and an evidence-based duration is undefined; cost is excluded.

Important safety and use flags

  • This is a complementary feed, not a medicine. Medicine-authorisation status is not applicable; that category does not prove clinical efficacy, purity or medicine-equivalent safety.
  • Optional adjunct only. Do not replace IRIS staging, renal diet, hydration or management of blood pressure, proteinuria, phosphate, anaemia, acidosis, potassium and uraemic signs.
  • No exact-product dog/cat clinical-outcome, pharmacokinetic, bioavailability or repeated-dose target-animal safety study was located.
  • The 2026 dog/cat renal-cell findings are in vitro. Suppression of selected fibrosis-related genes does not prove preserved renal function, improved quality of life or survival and requires in-vivo validation.
  • The current manufacturer direction is one capsule per 10 kg once daily, but non-10-kg rounding is not specified. Keep the label wording visible and do not expose an automatic calculator rule.
  • Do not create fractional-capsule doses without validated content uniformity after opening and division. Whole or fully opened capsule administration is supported; estimated portions are not.
  • Non-target Polyporus toxicology is mixed: an in-vitro chromosomal-aberration signal occurred despite negative bacterial-mutation and in-vivo micronucleus tests. Relevance to Nefroloxan, dogs or cats is unknown.
  • Review polypharmacy and gastrointestinal tolerance. Mushroom and hibiscus interaction magnitude in dogs/cats with CKD is not established; “natural” does not mean interaction-free.
  • Monitor clinical status, weight, appetite, hydration, creatinine/SDMA, urinalysis/UPC, blood pressure, phosphate/electrolytes and stage-specific endpoints rather than supplement use alone.
  • Safety in pregnancy, lactation, neonates and severe or unstable renal/hepatic disease is not established. Use only after an individual benefit-risk review.
Assessment sources
Assessed: 22 Oct 2026The overall score uses 25/25/25/15/10 weights. An unassessed price is excluded and the remaining weights are proportionally renormalised.
Formulation Type
Capsule
Administration route
By mouth
Manufacturer
Registration
Georgia Not a medicine
Not applicable (not a medicine)
Verified on: 22 Oct 2026
EU Not a medicine
Not applicable (not a medicine)
Verified on: 22 Oct 2026
UK Not a medicine
Not applicable (not a medicine)
Verified on: 22 Oct 2026
US Not a medicine
Not applicable (not a medicine)
Verified on: 22 Oct 2026
Controlled in Georgia
No
Checked against the narcotics law, Annex 1, lists I-IV, and Order No. 22/n.
Verified on: 16 Oct 2026
Information not fully verified Optional adjunctive dietary support only after renal/upper-urinary diagnosis and stage-specific care. The current manufacturer direction is one capsule per 10 kg once daily. It does not state how to round non-10-kg weights or validate fractional capsule contents, so no automatic calculator dose is supplied. Capsules may be given whole or opened into food/water.

Pronefra, Suspension

oral suspension, 60 ml and 180 ml, complementary feed for adult dogs and cats
vetman assessment
vetman’s 10-point assessment brings together a product’s regulatory credibility, clinical efficacy, safety and practicality. Cost-effectiveness is assessed only when reliable data are available. It is informational and does not replace a veterinarian’s clinical judgment for an individual patient.
Dog Adjunctive enteric phosphate binding in adult dogs with CKD when dietary phosphate restriction alone is insufficient
7.1/10
Good
vetman assessment

Pronefra

oral suspension, 60 ml and 180 ml, complementary feed for adult dogs and cats
Assessed clinical scopeDog · Adjunctive enteric phosphate binding in adult dogs with CKD when dietary phosphate restriction alone is insufficient · By mouth
Care settingVeterinary-directed outpatient CKD management with serial phosphate and calcium monitoring
vetman score 7.1/10 Good
Evidence confidence: Medium Georgia: Not a medicine · Verified on 20 Oct 2026

A practical adjunctive phosphate binder with a transparent formula; use only when the patient needs binding and titrate against laboratory targets.

Regulatory and scientific credibility6.5/10

The current exact formula and species-specific dose are transparent, and its complementary-feed status is correctly documented; it is not a medicinal product and lacks a regulator-reviewed efficacy dossier.

Clinical efficacy6.5/10

Calcium carbonate is a guideline-recognised enteric phosphate binder, but benefit must be titrated to serum phosphate and independent outcome evidence for this exact multi-ingredient product is limited.

Safety and tolerability7.5/10

Sponsor-reported tolerance is generally good, but calcium-containing binders require calcium monitoring and the product should not be used as an unmonitored routine supplement.

Clinical practicality8.5/10

The oral suspension has clear weight-based dosing, is given twice daily with meals and has favourable acceptance data; shaking and accurate syringe measurement remain necessary.

Full-course cost-effectiveness-

Price was not assessed and is excluded from the overall score.

Important safety and use flags

  • Use only when dietary phosphate restriction is insufficient; titrate to serum phosphate and monitor calcium.
  • Independent clinical outcome evidence for the exact four-component product is limited.
Assessment sources
Assessed: 21 Oct 2026The overall score uses 25/25/25/15/10 weights. An unassessed price is excluded and the remaining weights are proportionally renormalised.
Cat Adjunctive enteric phosphate binding in adult cats with CKD when dietary phosphate restriction alone is insufficient
7.1/10
Good
vetman assessment

Pronefra

oral suspension, 60 ml and 180 ml, complementary feed for adult dogs and cats
Assessed clinical scopeCat · Adjunctive enteric phosphate binding in adult cats with CKD when dietary phosphate restriction alone is insufficient · By mouth
Care settingVeterinary-directed outpatient CKD management with serial phosphate and calcium monitoring
vetman score 7.1/10 Good
Evidence confidence: Medium Georgia: Not a medicine · Verified on 20 Oct 2026

A practical adjunctive phosphate binder with a transparent formula; use only when the patient needs binding and titrate against laboratory targets.

Regulatory and scientific credibility6.5/10

The current exact formula and species-specific dose are transparent, and its complementary-feed status is correctly documented; it is not a medicinal product and lacks a regulator-reviewed efficacy dossier.

Clinical efficacy6.5/10

Calcium carbonate is a guideline-recognised enteric phosphate binder, but benefit must be titrated to serum phosphate and independent outcome evidence for this exact multi-ingredient product is limited.

Safety and tolerability7.5/10

Sponsor-reported tolerance is generally good, but calcium-containing binders require calcium monitoring and the product should not be used as an unmonitored routine supplement.

Clinical practicality8.5/10

The oral suspension has clear weight-based dosing, is given twice daily with meals and has favourable acceptance data; shaking and accurate syringe measurement remain necessary.

Full-course cost-effectiveness-

Price was not assessed and is excluded from the overall score.

Important safety and use flags

  • Use only when dietary phosphate restriction is insufficient; titrate to serum phosphate and monitor calcium.
  • Independent clinical outcome evidence for the exact four-component product is limited.
Assessment sources
Assessed: 21 Oct 2026The overall score uses 25/25/25/15/10 weights. An unassessed price is excluded and the remaining weights are proportionally renormalised.
Composition / strength
Calcium Carbonate3.6 % Hydrolysed fish protein (marine oligopeptides)1.9 % Chitosan1 % Magnesium Carbonate1 %
Formulation Type
Suspension
Administration route
By mouth
Manufacturer
Virbac · France
Registration
Georgia Not a medicine
Not applicable (not a medicine)
In the register: პრონეფრა
Verified on: 20 Oct 2026
Controlled in Georgia
Unknown

All of this shows in vetman as you prescribe

The dose for the patient's weight, registration in Georgia and controlled status, right on the prescription.