Register
Medicines reference
Product

Insectostop

Fipronil · Suziria / ProVET

2 forms: spot-on. In force in Georgia: 2 of 2 (veterinary register).

Forms and doses2 of 2 in force in Georgia

The dose from the product's label, by species and weight. Check the label of the pack you use.

Choose species and weight; the matching row will be highlighted.
Form Species Weight Dose Frequency Georgia
Spot-on · Cat 1–3 kg Cat 1–3 kg 0.5 ml (0.5 ml)
Apply to dry, intact skin where licking is prevented. Do not use in animals under 10 weeks or in sick, exhausted or debilitated animals.
· apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction
apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction Georgia Yes, veterinary
In force until 23 May 2029
Veterinary (National Food Agency)
In the register: ინსექტოსტოპი
№ 000614
Verified on: 21 Oct 2026
Spot-on · Dog 1–3 kg Dog 1–3 kg 0.5 ml (0.5 ml)
Apply to dry, intact skin where licking is prevented. Do not use in animals under 10 weeks or in sick, exhausted or debilitated animals.
· apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction
apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction Georgia Yes, veterinary
In force until 23 May 2029
Veterinary (National Food Agency)
In the register: ინსექტოსტოპი
№ 000614
Verified on: 21 Oct 2026
Details: pack, label wording, sources, registration

Insectostop, Spot-on

fipronil 100 mg/ml spot-on, 0.5 ml N6 for puppies and kittens
vetman assessment
vetman’s 10-point assessment brings together a product’s regulatory credibility, clinical efficacy, safety and practicality. Cost-effectiveness is assessed only when reliable data are available. It is informational and does not replace a veterinarian’s clinical judgment for an individual patient.
Dog Label-concordant adjunctive treatment of Otodectes cynotis infestation in the external ear canal
3.8/10
Poor / unconvincing
vetman assessment

Insectostop

fipronil 100 mg/ml spot-on, 0.5 ml N6 for puppies and kittens
Assessed clinical scopeDog · Label-concordant adjunctive treatment of Otodectes cynotis infestation in the external ear canal · auricular
Care settingVeterinary diagnosis after otoscopy and microscopy; clean the external canal, verify tympanic membrane integrity and reassess before repetition.
vetman score 3.8/10 Poor / unconvincing
Evidence confidence: Low Georgia: Yes, veterinary · № 000614 · Verified on 21 Oct 2026

The exact label names otodectosis but omits the ear dose; this makes the regimen clinically non-reproducible despite Georgian registration. Do not infer a quantity from another fipronil product.

Regulatory and scientific credibility5.0/10

The exact presentation is actively registered in Georgia and has a current official manufacturer instruction. The current ProVET instruction identifies the exact juvenile 0.5 ml presentation, but no regulator-hosted public assessment dossier or independent exact-formulation trial was found.

Clinical efficacy3.5/10

The exact instruction names otodectosis and describes bilateral cleaning and application, but gives no amount. No exact-product controlled otic efficacy study was found, and spot-on flea/tick studies cannot validate an unstated ear-canal dose.

Safety and tolerability3.5/10

Exact-formulation ear-canal safety and ototoxicity data were not found. The absent quantity prevents a reproducible exposure assessment. Use only after confirming an intact tympanic membrane; stop for pain, neurologic signs, marked irritation or hearing change. Class safety from dermal spot-on use cannot be assumed to prove otic safety.

Clinical practicality3.0/10

Cleaning, bilateral application and 7-10 day microscopy-guided reassessment are described, but the instruction gives no number of drops or volume. A clinician cannot reproduce or calculate the regimen responsibly; use an explicitly dosed otic alternative.

Full-course cost-effectiveness-

Price was not assessed and is excluded from the overall score.

Important safety and use flags

  • Confirm otodectosis by otoscopy/microscopy and verify an intact tympanic membrane before use. Do not apply into a perforated, unvisualised, severely inflamed or neurologically abnormal ear.
  • The exact instruction gives no auricular quantity. Do not infer drops or volume from another fipronil product; select an explicitly dosed alternative.
  • Spot-on flea/tick efficacy and dermal safety studies do not establish efficacy or ototoxicity safety for this exact repeated ear-canal regimen. Evidence confidence is low.
  • Respect every product-specific minimum age and weight. Do not transfer the eight-week/weight thresholds, pipette volumes or overdose margins of an authorised comparator to this presentation.
  • The public exact instruction does not establish reproductive safety. Use in pregnancy, breeding or lactation only when a veterinarian documents a favourable benefit-risk and no better-characterised option is suitable.
  • Do not use in sick, convalescent, exhausted or debilitated animals where the exact label excludes them. Avoid use in a patient with known fipronil or excipient hypersensitivity.
  • Prevent oral exposure and mutual grooming until the application site is dry. Brief hypersalivation can follow licking; vomiting, depression, tremor, marked salivation or other neurologic signs require prompt veterinary assessment.
  • Do not combine with another directly applied ectoparasiticide unless the compatibility and interval are explicitly established. Follow the exact bathing, handling and retreatment restrictions rather than shortening the interval after apparent failure.
  • Fipronil is hazardous to aquatic organisms. Keep treated animals away from water during the label restriction, prevent contamination of ponds and waterways, and dispose of pipettes and residue through the appropriate medicine-waste route.
Assessment sources
Assessed: 22 Oct 2026The overall score uses 25/25/25/15/10 weights. An unassessed price is excluded and the remaining weights are proportionally renormalised.
Dog Label-concordant treatment and prevention of susceptible flea, tick and louse infestations; broader mite or repellent claims are included only where the exact instruction states them
5.4/10
Weak evidence support
vetman assessment

Insectostop

fipronil 100 mg/ml spot-on, 0.5 ml N6 for puppies and kittens
Assessed clinical scopeDog · Label-concordant treatment and prevention of susceptible flea, tick and louse infestations; broader mite or repellent claims are included only where the exact instruction states them · On the skin
Care settingHome topical administration after veterinary selection of parasite target, weight band and retreatment interval; environmental control and household coverage as clinically indicated.
vetman score 5.4/10 Weak evidence support
Evidence confidence: Medium Georgia: Yes, veterinary · № 000614 · Verified on 21 Oct 2026

A weak exact-presentation option: fipronil class efficacy is credible, but dose design, broad claims or formulation-specific evidence are less convincing than current regulator-reviewed comparators. Use only within the exact label and reassess control rather than assuming class equivalence.

Regulatory and scientific credibility5.0/10

The exact presentation is actively registered in Georgia and has a current official manufacturer instruction. The current ProVET instruction identifies the exact juvenile 0.5 ml presentation, but no regulator-hosted public assessment dossier or independent exact-formulation trial was found.

Clinical efficacy5.5/10

The 100 mg/ml concentration and core flea/tick role are close to authorised comparators, and controlled dog/cat studies support the class/formulation. Exact-product outcomes and the broader sarcoptic/trombidiform claim are unverified; the manufacturer states about four weeks for fleas and three weeks for ticks.

Safety and tolerability4.5/10

The instruction excludes animals under 10 weeks and sick, exhausted, weak or hypersensitive patients. Reproductive safety, exact-formulation adverse-event frequency and overdose margin are not stated in a public regulator dossier; juvenile and small-patient use therefore requires conservative selection.

Clinical practicality7.5/10

A single 0.5 ml pipette for a 1-3 kg patient is straightforward and the six-pipette pack supports repeat control. Accurate weight and the ten-week minimum age remain essential in small juvenile patients.

Full-course cost-effectiveness-

Price was not assessed and is excluded from the overall score.

Important safety and use flags

  • Use only on dry, intact skin in an area the animal cannot lick. Weigh the patient, select the exact label band and do not extrapolate between products, concentrations or pipette sizes.
  • Fipronil does not reliably prevent tick attachment or pathogen transmission. Examine the patient after exposure and use an integrated parasite plan based on local epidemiology and lifestyle.
  • The exact product has no independent controlled outcome trial or public regulator assessment dossier. Class evidence supports fipronil, not every broader mite, repellent or persistence claim on this formulation.
  • Respect every product-specific minimum age and weight. Do not transfer the eight-week/weight thresholds, pipette volumes or overdose margins of an authorised comparator to this presentation.
  • The public exact instruction does not establish reproductive safety. Use in pregnancy, breeding or lactation only when a veterinarian documents a favourable benefit-risk and no better-characterised option is suitable.
  • Do not use in sick, convalescent, exhausted or debilitated animals where the exact label excludes them. Avoid use in a patient with known fipronil or excipient hypersensitivity.
  • Prevent oral exposure and mutual grooming until the application site is dry. Brief hypersalivation can follow licking; vomiting, depression, tremor, marked salivation or other neurologic signs require prompt veterinary assessment.
  • Do not combine with another directly applied ectoparasiticide unless the compatibility and interval are explicitly established. Follow the exact bathing, handling and retreatment restrictions rather than shortening the interval after apparent failure.
  • Fipronil is hazardous to aquatic organisms. Keep treated animals away from water during the label restriction, prevent contamination of ponds and waterways, and dispose of pipettes and residue through the appropriate medicine-waste route.
Assessment sources
Assessed: 22 Oct 2026The overall score uses 25/25/25/15/10 weights. An unassessed price is excluded and the remaining weights are proportionally renormalised.
Cat Label-concordant adjunctive treatment of Otodectes cynotis infestation in the external ear canal
3.8/10
Poor / unconvincing
vetman assessment

Insectostop

fipronil 100 mg/ml spot-on, 0.5 ml N6 for puppies and kittens
Assessed clinical scopeCat · Label-concordant adjunctive treatment of Otodectes cynotis infestation in the external ear canal · auricular
Care settingVeterinary diagnosis after otoscopy and microscopy; clean the external canal, verify tympanic membrane integrity and reassess before repetition.
vetman score 3.8/10 Poor / unconvincing
Evidence confidence: Low Georgia: Yes, veterinary · № 000614 · Verified on 21 Oct 2026

The exact label names otodectosis but omits the ear dose; this makes the regimen clinically non-reproducible despite Georgian registration. Do not infer a quantity from another fipronil product.

Regulatory and scientific credibility5.0/10

The exact presentation is actively registered in Georgia and has a current official manufacturer instruction. The current ProVET instruction identifies the exact juvenile 0.5 ml presentation, but no regulator-hosted public assessment dossier or independent exact-formulation trial was found.

Clinical efficacy3.5/10

The exact instruction names otodectosis and describes bilateral cleaning and application, but gives no amount. No exact-product controlled otic efficacy study was found, and spot-on flea/tick studies cannot validate an unstated ear-canal dose.

Safety and tolerability3.5/10

Exact-formulation ear-canal safety and ototoxicity data were not found. The absent quantity prevents a reproducible exposure assessment. Use only after confirming an intact tympanic membrane; stop for pain, neurologic signs, marked irritation or hearing change. Class safety from dermal spot-on use cannot be assumed to prove otic safety.

Clinical practicality3.0/10

Cleaning, bilateral application and 7-10 day microscopy-guided reassessment are described, but the instruction gives no number of drops or volume. A clinician cannot reproduce or calculate the regimen responsibly; use an explicitly dosed otic alternative.

Full-course cost-effectiveness-

Price was not assessed and is excluded from the overall score.

Important safety and use flags

  • Confirm otodectosis by otoscopy/microscopy and verify an intact tympanic membrane before use. Do not apply into a perforated, unvisualised, severely inflamed or neurologically abnormal ear.
  • The exact instruction gives no auricular quantity. Do not infer drops or volume from another fipronil product; select an explicitly dosed alternative.
  • Spot-on flea/tick efficacy and dermal safety studies do not establish efficacy or ototoxicity safety for this exact repeated ear-canal regimen. Evidence confidence is low.
  • Respect every product-specific minimum age and weight. Do not transfer the eight-week/weight thresholds, pipette volumes or overdose margins of an authorised comparator to this presentation.
  • The public exact instruction does not establish reproductive safety. Use in pregnancy, breeding or lactation only when a veterinarian documents a favourable benefit-risk and no better-characterised option is suitable.
  • Do not use in sick, convalescent, exhausted or debilitated animals where the exact label excludes them. Avoid use in a patient with known fipronil or excipient hypersensitivity.
  • Prevent oral exposure and mutual grooming until the application site is dry. Brief hypersalivation can follow licking; vomiting, depression, tremor, marked salivation or other neurologic signs require prompt veterinary assessment.
  • Do not combine with another directly applied ectoparasiticide unless the compatibility and interval are explicitly established. Follow the exact bathing, handling and retreatment restrictions rather than shortening the interval after apparent failure.
  • Fipronil is hazardous to aquatic organisms. Keep treated animals away from water during the label restriction, prevent contamination of ponds and waterways, and dispose of pipettes and residue through the appropriate medicine-waste route.
Assessment sources
Assessed: 22 Oct 2026The overall score uses 25/25/25/15/10 weights. An unassessed price is excluded and the remaining weights are proportionally renormalised.
Cat Label-concordant treatment and prevention of susceptible flea, tick and louse infestations; broader mite or repellent claims are included only where the exact instruction states them
5.8/10
Weak evidence support
vetman assessment

Insectostop

fipronil 100 mg/ml spot-on, 0.5 ml N6 for puppies and kittens
Assessed clinical scopeCat · Label-concordant treatment and prevention of susceptible flea, tick and louse infestations; broader mite or repellent claims are included only where the exact instruction states them · On the skin
Care settingHome topical administration after veterinary selection of parasite target, weight band and retreatment interval; environmental control and household coverage as clinically indicated.
vetman score 5.8/10 Weak evidence support
Evidence confidence: Medium Georgia: Yes, veterinary · № 000614 · Verified on 21 Oct 2026

A usable fipronil spot-on presentation for its exact weight and age band, supported by established class efficacy but not by an independent exact-product dossier. Keep broader claims, retreatment interval and formulation-specific safety within the limits of the manufacturer instruction.

Regulatory and scientific credibility5.0/10

The exact presentation is actively registered in Georgia and has a current official manufacturer instruction. The current ProVET instruction identifies the exact juvenile 0.5 ml presentation, but no regulator-hosted public assessment dossier or independent exact-formulation trial was found.

Clinical efficacy6.0/10

The 100 mg/ml concentration and core flea/tick role are close to authorised comparators, and controlled dog/cat studies support the class/formulation. Exact-product outcomes and the broader sarcoptic/trombidiform claim are unverified; the manufacturer states about four weeks for fleas and three weeks for ticks.

Safety and tolerability5.5/10

The instruction excludes animals under 10 weeks and sick, exhausted, weak or hypersensitive patients. Reproductive safety, exact-formulation adverse-event frequency and overdose margin are not stated in a public regulator dossier; juvenile and small-patient use therefore requires conservative selection.

Clinical practicality7.5/10

A single 0.5 ml pipette for a 1-3 kg patient is straightforward and the six-pipette pack supports repeat control. Accurate weight and the ten-week minimum age remain essential in small juvenile patients.

Full-course cost-effectiveness-

Price was not assessed and is excluded from the overall score.

Important safety and use flags

  • Use only on dry, intact skin in an area the animal cannot lick. Weigh the patient, select the exact label band and do not extrapolate between products, concentrations or pipette sizes.
  • Fipronil does not reliably prevent tick attachment or pathogen transmission. Examine the patient after exposure and use an integrated parasite plan based on local epidemiology and lifestyle.
  • The exact product has no independent controlled outcome trial or public regulator assessment dossier. Class evidence supports fipronil, not every broader mite, repellent or persistence claim on this formulation.
  • Respect every product-specific minimum age and weight. Do not transfer the eight-week/weight thresholds, pipette volumes or overdose margins of an authorised comparator to this presentation.
  • The public exact instruction does not establish reproductive safety. Use in pregnancy, breeding or lactation only when a veterinarian documents a favourable benefit-risk and no better-characterised option is suitable.
  • Do not use in sick, convalescent, exhausted or debilitated animals where the exact label excludes them. Avoid use in a patient with known fipronil or excipient hypersensitivity.
  • Prevent oral exposure and mutual grooming until the application site is dry. Brief hypersalivation can follow licking; vomiting, depression, tremor, marked salivation or other neurologic signs require prompt veterinary assessment.
  • Do not combine with another directly applied ectoparasiticide unless the compatibility and interval are explicitly established. Follow the exact bathing, handling and retreatment restrictions rather than shortening the interval after apparent failure.
  • Fipronil is hazardous to aquatic organisms. Keep treated animals away from water during the label restriction, prevent contamination of ponds and waterways, and dispose of pipettes and residue through the appropriate medicine-waste route.
Assessment sources
Assessed: 22 Oct 2026The overall score uses 25/25/25/15/10 weights. An unassessed price is excluded and the remaining weights are proportionally renormalised.
Composition / strength
Fipronil100 mg/ml Fipronil100 mg/ml
Formulation Type
Spot-on
Administration route
On the skin, auricular
Manufacturer
Suziria / ProVET · Ukraine
Manufacturer (register)
LLC scientific production enterprise Suziria, Ukraine
Manufacturer and country as in the veterinary medicines register (National Food Agency), row 1095, 19 Oct 2026.
Registration
Georgia Yes, veterinary
In force until 23 May 2029
Veterinary (National Food Agency)
In the register: ინსექტოსტოპი
№ 000614
Verified on: 21 Oct 2026
Controlled in Georgia
No
Checked against the narcotics law, Annex 1, lists I-IV, and Order No. 22/n.
Verified on: 16 Oct 2026
DoseSpeciesWeightRouteFrequencySource
0.5 ml (0.5 ml)
Apply to dry, intact skin where licking is prevented. Do not use in animals under 10 weeks or in sick, exhausted or debilitated animals.
Cat 1–3 kg On the skin apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction
ProVET INSECTOSTOP
Manufacturer material
Information published by the maker or a seller, such as a datasheet or product page. A medicines regulator has not necessarily reviewed it.
INSECTOSTOP drops - current official product instructions
ProVET official veterinary product pages
0.5 ml (0.5 ml)
Apply to dry, intact skin where licking is prevented. Do not use in animals under 10 weeks or in sick, exhausted or debilitated animals.
Dog 1–3 kg On the skin apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction
ProVET INSECTOSTOP
Manufacturer material
Information published by the maker or a seller, such as a datasheet or product page. A medicines regulator has not necessarily reviewed it.
INSECTOSTOP drops - current official product instructions
ProVET official veterinary product pages
Spot-on · Cat 3–10 kg Cat 3–10 kg 0.8 ml (0.8 ml)
Apply to dry, intact skin where licking is prevented. Do not use in animals under 10 weeks or in sick, exhausted or debilitated animals.
· apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction
apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction Georgia Yes, veterinary
In force until 21 May 2029
Veterinary (National Food Agency)
In the register: ინსექტოსტოპი
№ 000613
Verified on: 21 Oct 2026
Spot-on · Dog 4–10 kg Dog 4–10 kg 0.8 ml (0.8 ml)
Apply to dry, intact skin where licking is prevented. Do not use in animals under 10 weeks or in sick, exhausted or debilitated animals.
· apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction
apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction Georgia Yes, veterinary
In force until 21 May 2029
Veterinary (National Food Agency)
In the register: ინსექტოსტოპი
№ 000613
Verified on: 21 Oct 2026
Spot-on · Dog 10–20 kg Dog 10–20 kg 1.6 ml (0.8 ml)
Apply to dry, intact skin where licking is prevented. Do not use in animals under 10 weeks or in sick, exhausted or debilitated animals.
· apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction
apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction Georgia Yes, veterinary
In force until 21 May 2029
Veterinary (National Food Agency)
In the register: ინსექტოსტოპი
№ 000613
Verified on: 21 Oct 2026
Spot-on · Dog 20–40 kg Dog 20–40 kg 2.4 ml (0.8 ml)
Apply to dry, intact skin where licking is prevented. Do not use in animals under 10 weeks or in sick, exhausted or debilitated animals.
· apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction
apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction Georgia Yes, veterinary
In force until 21 May 2029
Veterinary (National Food Agency)
In the register: ინსექტოსტოპი
№ 000613
Verified on: 21 Oct 2026
Spot-on · Dog over 40 kg Dog over 40 kg 3.2 ml (0.8 ml)
Apply to dry, intact skin where licking is prevented. Do not use in animals under 10 weeks or in sick, exhausted or debilitated animals.
· apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction
apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction Georgia Yes, veterinary
In force until 21 May 2029
Veterinary (National Food Agency)
In the register: ინსექტოსტოპი
№ 000613
Verified on: 21 Oct 2026
Details: pack, label wording, sources, registration

Insectostop, Spot-on

fipronil 100 mg/ml spot-on, 0.8 ml N6 for dogs and cats
vetman assessment
vetman’s 10-point assessment brings together a product’s regulatory credibility, clinical efficacy, safety and practicality. Cost-effectiveness is assessed only when reliable data are available. It is informational and does not replace a veterinarian’s clinical judgment for an individual patient.
Dog Label-concordant adjunctive treatment of Otodectes cynotis infestation in the external ear canal
3.8/10
Poor / unconvincing
vetman assessment

Insectostop

fipronil 100 mg/ml spot-on, 0.8 ml N6 for dogs and cats
Assessed clinical scopeDog · Label-concordant adjunctive treatment of Otodectes cynotis infestation in the external ear canal · auricular
Care settingVeterinary diagnosis after otoscopy and microscopy; clean the external canal, verify tympanic membrane integrity and reassess before repetition.
vetman score 3.8/10 Poor / unconvincing
Evidence confidence: Low Georgia: Yes, veterinary · № 000613 · Verified on 21 Oct 2026

The exact label names otodectosis but omits the ear dose; this makes the regimen clinically non-reproducible despite Georgian registration. Do not infer a quantity from another fipronil product.

Regulatory and scientific credibility5.0/10

The exact presentation is actively registered in Georgia and has a current official manufacturer instruction. The current ProVET instruction identifies the exact 0.8 ml presentation, but no regulator-hosted public assessment dossier or independent exact-formulation trial was found.

Clinical efficacy3.5/10

The exact instruction names otodectosis and describes bilateral cleaning and application, but gives no amount. No exact-product controlled otic efficacy study was found, and spot-on flea/tick studies cannot validate an unstated ear-canal dose.

Safety and tolerability3.5/10

Exact-formulation ear-canal safety and ototoxicity data were not found. The absent quantity prevents a reproducible exposure assessment. Use only after confirming an intact tympanic membrane; stop for pain, neurologic signs, marked irritation or hearing change. Class safety from dermal spot-on use cannot be assumed to prove otic safety.

Clinical practicality3.0/10

Cleaning, bilateral application and 7-10 day microscopy-guided reassessment are described, but the instruction gives no number of drops or volume. A clinician cannot reproduce or calculate the regimen responsibly; use an explicitly dosed otic alternative.

Full-course cost-effectiveness-

Price was not assessed and is excluded from the overall score.

Important safety and use flags

  • Confirm otodectosis by otoscopy/microscopy and verify an intact tympanic membrane before use. Do not apply into a perforated, unvisualised, severely inflamed or neurologically abnormal ear.
  • The exact instruction gives no auricular quantity. Do not infer drops or volume from another fipronil product; select an explicitly dosed alternative.
  • Spot-on flea/tick efficacy and dermal safety studies do not establish efficacy or ototoxicity safety for this exact repeated ear-canal regimen. Evidence confidence is low.
  • Respect every product-specific minimum age and weight. Do not transfer the eight-week/weight thresholds, pipette volumes or overdose margins of an authorised comparator to this presentation.
  • The public exact instruction does not establish reproductive safety. Use in pregnancy, breeding or lactation only when a veterinarian documents a favourable benefit-risk and no better-characterised option is suitable.
  • Do not use in sick, convalescent, exhausted or debilitated animals where the exact label excludes them. Avoid use in a patient with known fipronil or excipient hypersensitivity.
  • Prevent oral exposure and mutual grooming until the application site is dry. Brief hypersalivation can follow licking; vomiting, depression, tremor, marked salivation or other neurologic signs require prompt veterinary assessment.
  • Do not combine with another directly applied ectoparasiticide unless the compatibility and interval are explicitly established. Follow the exact bathing, handling and retreatment restrictions rather than shortening the interval after apparent failure.
  • Fipronil is hazardous to aquatic organisms. Keep treated animals away from water during the label restriction, prevent contamination of ponds and waterways, and dispose of pipettes and residue through the appropriate medicine-waste route.
Assessment sources
Assessed: 22 Oct 2026The overall score uses 25/25/25/15/10 weights. An unassessed price is excluded and the remaining weights are proportionally renormalised.
Dog Label-concordant treatment and prevention of susceptible flea, tick and louse infestations; broader mite or repellent claims are included only where the exact instruction states them
5.8/10
Weak evidence support
vetman assessment

Insectostop

fipronil 100 mg/ml spot-on, 0.8 ml N6 for dogs and cats
Assessed clinical scopeDog · Label-concordant treatment and prevention of susceptible flea, tick and louse infestations; broader mite or repellent claims are included only where the exact instruction states them · On the skin
Care settingHome topical administration after veterinary selection of parasite target, weight band and retreatment interval; environmental control and household coverage as clinically indicated.
vetman score 5.8/10 Weak evidence support
Evidence confidence: Medium Georgia: Yes, veterinary · № 000613 · Verified on 21 Oct 2026

A usable fipronil spot-on presentation for its exact weight and age band, supported by established class efficacy but not by an independent exact-product dossier. Keep broader claims, retreatment interval and formulation-specific safety within the limits of the manufacturer instruction.

Regulatory and scientific credibility5.0/10

The exact presentation is actively registered in Georgia and has a current official manufacturer instruction. The current ProVET instruction identifies the exact 0.8 ml presentation, but no regulator-hosted public assessment dossier or independent exact-formulation trial was found.

Clinical efficacy6.0/10

The 100 mg/ml concentration and core flea/tick role are close to authorised comparators, and controlled dog/cat studies support the class/formulation. Exact-product outcomes and the broader sarcoptic/trombidiform claim are unverified; the manufacturer states about four weeks for fleas and three weeks for ticks.

Safety and tolerability5.5/10

The instruction excludes animals under 10 weeks and sick, exhausted, weak or hypersensitive patients. Reproductive safety, exact-formulation adverse-event frequency and overdose margin are not stated in a public regulator dossier; juvenile and small-patient use therefore requires conservative selection.

Clinical practicality7.0/10

Single 0.8 ml pipettes match the first dog/cat band, while larger dogs require two to four pipettes. Monthly flea and roughly three-week tick protection is workable, but repeated multi-pipette application and environmental control add burden.

Full-course cost-effectiveness-

Price was not assessed and is excluded from the overall score.

Important safety and use flags

  • Use only on dry, intact skin in an area the animal cannot lick. Weigh the patient, select the exact label band and do not extrapolate between products, concentrations or pipette sizes.
  • Fipronil does not reliably prevent tick attachment or pathogen transmission. Examine the patient after exposure and use an integrated parasite plan based on local epidemiology and lifestyle.
  • The exact product has no independent controlled outcome trial or public regulator assessment dossier. Class evidence supports fipronil, not every broader mite, repellent or persistence claim on this formulation.
  • Respect every product-specific minimum age and weight. Do not transfer the eight-week/weight thresholds, pipette volumes or overdose margins of an authorised comparator to this presentation.
  • The public exact instruction does not establish reproductive safety. Use in pregnancy, breeding or lactation only when a veterinarian documents a favourable benefit-risk and no better-characterised option is suitable.
  • Do not use in sick, convalescent, exhausted or debilitated animals where the exact label excludes them. Avoid use in a patient with known fipronil or excipient hypersensitivity.
  • Prevent oral exposure and mutual grooming until the application site is dry. Brief hypersalivation can follow licking; vomiting, depression, tremor, marked salivation or other neurologic signs require prompt veterinary assessment.
  • Do not combine with another directly applied ectoparasiticide unless the compatibility and interval are explicitly established. Follow the exact bathing, handling and retreatment restrictions rather than shortening the interval after apparent failure.
  • Fipronil is hazardous to aquatic organisms. Keep treated animals away from water during the label restriction, prevent contamination of ponds and waterways, and dispose of pipettes and residue through the appropriate medicine-waste route.
Assessment sources
Assessed: 22 Oct 2026The overall score uses 25/25/25/15/10 weights. An unassessed price is excluded and the remaining weights are proportionally renormalised.
Cat Label-concordant adjunctive treatment of Otodectes cynotis infestation in the external ear canal
3.8/10
Poor / unconvincing
vetman assessment

Insectostop

fipronil 100 mg/ml spot-on, 0.8 ml N6 for dogs and cats
Assessed clinical scopeCat · Label-concordant adjunctive treatment of Otodectes cynotis infestation in the external ear canal · auricular
Care settingVeterinary diagnosis after otoscopy and microscopy; clean the external canal, verify tympanic membrane integrity and reassess before repetition.
vetman score 3.8/10 Poor / unconvincing
Evidence confidence: Low Georgia: Yes, veterinary · № 000613 · Verified on 21 Oct 2026

The exact label names otodectosis but omits the ear dose; this makes the regimen clinically non-reproducible despite Georgian registration. Do not infer a quantity from another fipronil product.

Regulatory and scientific credibility5.0/10

The exact presentation is actively registered in Georgia and has a current official manufacturer instruction. The current ProVET instruction identifies the exact 0.8 ml presentation, but no regulator-hosted public assessment dossier or independent exact-formulation trial was found.

Clinical efficacy3.5/10

The exact instruction names otodectosis and describes bilateral cleaning and application, but gives no amount. No exact-product controlled otic efficacy study was found, and spot-on flea/tick studies cannot validate an unstated ear-canal dose.

Safety and tolerability3.5/10

Exact-formulation ear-canal safety and ototoxicity data were not found. The absent quantity prevents a reproducible exposure assessment. Use only after confirming an intact tympanic membrane; stop for pain, neurologic signs, marked irritation or hearing change. Class safety from dermal spot-on use cannot be assumed to prove otic safety.

Clinical practicality3.0/10

Cleaning, bilateral application and 7-10 day microscopy-guided reassessment are described, but the instruction gives no number of drops or volume. A clinician cannot reproduce or calculate the regimen responsibly; use an explicitly dosed otic alternative.

Full-course cost-effectiveness-

Price was not assessed and is excluded from the overall score.

Important safety and use flags

  • Confirm otodectosis by otoscopy/microscopy and verify an intact tympanic membrane before use. Do not apply into a perforated, unvisualised, severely inflamed or neurologically abnormal ear.
  • The exact instruction gives no auricular quantity. Do not infer drops or volume from another fipronil product; select an explicitly dosed alternative.
  • Spot-on flea/tick efficacy and dermal safety studies do not establish efficacy or ototoxicity safety for this exact repeated ear-canal regimen. Evidence confidence is low.
  • Respect every product-specific minimum age and weight. Do not transfer the eight-week/weight thresholds, pipette volumes or overdose margins of an authorised comparator to this presentation.
  • The public exact instruction does not establish reproductive safety. Use in pregnancy, breeding or lactation only when a veterinarian documents a favourable benefit-risk and no better-characterised option is suitable.
  • Do not use in sick, convalescent, exhausted or debilitated animals where the exact label excludes them. Avoid use in a patient with known fipronil or excipient hypersensitivity.
  • Prevent oral exposure and mutual grooming until the application site is dry. Brief hypersalivation can follow licking; vomiting, depression, tremor, marked salivation or other neurologic signs require prompt veterinary assessment.
  • Do not combine with another directly applied ectoparasiticide unless the compatibility and interval are explicitly established. Follow the exact bathing, handling and retreatment restrictions rather than shortening the interval after apparent failure.
  • Fipronil is hazardous to aquatic organisms. Keep treated animals away from water during the label restriction, prevent contamination of ponds and waterways, and dispose of pipettes and residue through the appropriate medicine-waste route.
Assessment sources
Assessed: 22 Oct 2026The overall score uses 25/25/25/15/10 weights. An unassessed price is excluded and the remaining weights are proportionally renormalised.
Cat Label-concordant treatment and prevention of susceptible flea, tick and louse infestations; broader mite or repellent claims are included only where the exact instruction states them
5.6/10
Weak evidence support
vetman assessment

Insectostop

fipronil 100 mg/ml spot-on, 0.8 ml N6 for dogs and cats
Assessed clinical scopeCat · Label-concordant treatment and prevention of susceptible flea, tick and louse infestations; broader mite or repellent claims are included only where the exact instruction states them · On the skin
Care settingHome topical administration after veterinary selection of parasite target, weight band and retreatment interval; environmental control and household coverage as clinically indicated.
vetman score 5.6/10 Weak evidence support
Evidence confidence: Medium Georgia: Yes, veterinary · № 000613 · Verified on 21 Oct 2026

A weak exact-presentation option: fipronil class efficacy is credible, but dose design, broad claims or formulation-specific evidence are less convincing than current regulator-reviewed comparators. Use only within the exact label and reassess control rather than assuming class equivalence.

Regulatory and scientific credibility5.0/10

The exact presentation is actively registered in Georgia and has a current official manufacturer instruction. The current ProVET instruction identifies the exact 0.8 ml presentation, but no regulator-hosted public assessment dossier or independent exact-formulation trial was found.

Clinical efficacy6.0/10

The 100 mg/ml concentration and core flea/tick role are close to authorised comparators, and controlled dog/cat studies support the class/formulation. Exact-product outcomes and the broader sarcoptic/trombidiform claim are unverified; the manufacturer states about four weeks for fleas and three weeks for ticks.

Safety and tolerability5.0/10

The instruction excludes animals under 10 weeks and sick, exhausted, weak or hypersensitive patients. Reproductive safety, exact-formulation adverse-event frequency and overdose margin are not stated in a public regulator dossier; juvenile and small-patient use therefore requires conservative selection.

Clinical practicality7.0/10

Single 0.8 ml pipettes match the first dog/cat band, while larger dogs require two to four pipettes. Monthly flea and roughly three-week tick protection is workable, but repeated multi-pipette application and environmental control add burden.

Full-course cost-effectiveness-

Price was not assessed and is excluded from the overall score.

Important safety and use flags

  • Use only on dry, intact skin in an area the animal cannot lick. Weigh the patient, select the exact label band and do not extrapolate between products, concentrations or pipette sizes.
  • Fipronil does not reliably prevent tick attachment or pathogen transmission. Examine the patient after exposure and use an integrated parasite plan based on local epidemiology and lifestyle.
  • The exact product has no independent controlled outcome trial or public regulator assessment dossier. Class evidence supports fipronil, not every broader mite, repellent or persistence claim on this formulation.
  • Respect every product-specific minimum age and weight. Do not transfer the eight-week/weight thresholds, pipette volumes or overdose margins of an authorised comparator to this presentation.
  • The public exact instruction does not establish reproductive safety. Use in pregnancy, breeding or lactation only when a veterinarian documents a favourable benefit-risk and no better-characterised option is suitable.
  • Do not use in sick, convalescent, exhausted or debilitated animals where the exact label excludes them. Avoid use in a patient with known fipronil or excipient hypersensitivity.
  • Prevent oral exposure and mutual grooming until the application site is dry. Brief hypersalivation can follow licking; vomiting, depression, tremor, marked salivation or other neurologic signs require prompt veterinary assessment.
  • Do not combine with another directly applied ectoparasiticide unless the compatibility and interval are explicitly established. Follow the exact bathing, handling and retreatment restrictions rather than shortening the interval after apparent failure.
  • Fipronil is hazardous to aquatic organisms. Keep treated animals away from water during the label restriction, prevent contamination of ponds and waterways, and dispose of pipettes and residue through the appropriate medicine-waste route.
Assessment sources
Assessed: 22 Oct 2026The overall score uses 25/25/25/15/10 weights. An unassessed price is excluded and the remaining weights are proportionally renormalised.
Composition / strength
Fipronil100 mg/ml Fipronil100 mg/ml
Formulation Type
Spot-on
Administration route
On the skin, auricular
Manufacturer
Suziria / ProVET · Ukraine
Manufacturer (register)
LLC scientific production enterprise Suziria, Ukraine
Manufacturer and country as in the veterinary medicines register (National Food Agency), row 1093, 19 Oct 2026.
Registration
Georgia Yes, veterinary
In force until 21 May 2029
Veterinary (National Food Agency)
In the register: ინსექტოსტოპი
№ 000613
Verified on: 21 Oct 2026
Controlled in Georgia
No
Checked against the narcotics law, Annex 1, lists I-IV, and Order No. 22/n.
Verified on: 16 Oct 2026
DoseSpeciesWeightRouteFrequencySource
0.8 ml (0.8 ml)
Apply to dry, intact skin where licking is prevented. Do not use in animals under 10 weeks or in sick, exhausted or debilitated animals.
Cat 3–10 kg On the skin apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction
ProVET INSECTOSTOP
Manufacturer material
Information published by the maker or a seller, such as a datasheet or product page. A medicines regulator has not necessarily reviewed it.
INSECTOSTOP drops - current official product instructions
ProVET official veterinary product pages
0.8 ml (0.8 ml)
Apply to dry, intact skin where licking is prevented. Do not use in animals under 10 weeks or in sick, exhausted or debilitated animals.
Dog 4–10 kg On the skin apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction
ProVET INSECTOSTOP
Manufacturer material
Information published by the maker or a seller, such as a datasheet or product page. A medicines regulator has not necessarily reviewed it.
INSECTOSTOP drops - current official product instructions
ProVET official veterinary product pages
1.6 ml (0.8 ml)
Apply to dry, intact skin where licking is prevented. Do not use in animals under 10 weeks or in sick, exhausted or debilitated animals.
Dog 10–20 kg On the skin apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction
ProVET INSECTOSTOP
Manufacturer material
Information published by the maker or a seller, such as a datasheet or product page. A medicines regulator has not necessarily reviewed it.
INSECTOSTOP drops - current official product instructions
ProVET official veterinary product pages
2.4 ml (0.8 ml)
Apply to dry, intact skin where licking is prevented. Do not use in animals under 10 weeks or in sick, exhausted or debilitated animals.
Dog 20–40 kg On the skin apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction
ProVET INSECTOSTOP
Manufacturer material
Information published by the maker or a seller, such as a datasheet or product page. A medicines regulator has not necessarily reviewed it.
INSECTOSTOP drops - current official product instructions
ProVET official veterinary product pages
3.2 ml (0.8 ml)
Apply to dry, intact skin where licking is prevented. Do not use in animals under 10 weeks or in sick, exhausted or debilitated animals.
Dog over 40 kg On the skin apply once; repeat only according to the official instruction
ProVET INSECTOSTOP
Manufacturer material
Information published by the maker or a seller, such as a datasheet or product page. A medicines regulator has not necessarily reviewed it.
INSECTOSTOP drops - current official product instructions
ProVET official veterinary product pages
Active substance doses, with sources
Active substance Fipronil
Dose calculatorCalculates the active-substance amount; it is not a prescription.
PatientSpecies and weight will be filled in automatically in other calculators.
Selected dose
Dose Species Indication Route Frequency Source
6.7 mg/kg Dog Maintenance On the skin not more often than once every 4 weeks
VMD SPC 2025
Official product label (SPC), VMD, UK
Approved by the UK Veterinary Medicines Directorate (VMD) as part of the product's authorisation. It applies to that product as authorised there.
Frontline Combo 67.00 mg / 60.30 mg spot-on solution for dog S - Summary of Product Characteristics
UK Veterinary Medicines Directorate, 2025
7.5–15 mg/kg Dog, Cat Maintenance On the skin not more often than once every 4 weeks
VMD SPC 2026
Official product label (SPC), VMD, UK
Approved by the UK Veterinary Medicines Directorate (VMD) as part of the product's authorisation. It applies to that product as authorised there.
Frontline Spray 0.25% w/v cutaneous spray solution - Summary of Product Characteristics
UK Veterinary Medicines Directorate, 2026
5 mg/kg Cat Maintenance On the skin not more often than once every 4 weeks
VMD SPC 2025
Official product label (SPC), VMD, UK
Approved by the UK Veterinary Medicines Directorate (VMD) as part of the product's authorisation. It applies to that product as authorised there.
Frontline Combo 50.00 mg / 60.00 mg spot-on solution for cat - Summary of Product Characteristics
UK Veterinary Medicines Directorate, 2025
8.3 mg/kg Cat Maintenance On the skin not more often than once every 4 weeks
VMD SPC 2025
Official product label (SPC), VMD, UK
Approved by the UK Veterinary Medicines Directorate (VMD) as part of the product's authorisation. It applies to that product as authorised there.
Effipro Duo 50 mg/60 mg Spot-on Solution for Cats - Summary of Product Characteristics
UK Veterinary Medicines Directorate, 2025

Known Contraindications

  • Critical
    Do not use in cases of hypersensitivity to the active substances or to any of the excipients.
    Sources: VMD SPC · VMD
  • Critical
    Do not use on sick (e.g. systemic diseases, fever) or convalescent animals.
    Sources: VMD SPC · VMD
  • Warning (Dog)
    In the absence of available data, the veterinary medicinal product should not be used on puppies less than 8 weeks old and/or weighing less than 2 kg. Puppies and kittens from 2 days of age may be safely treated. Nepoužívat u štěňat do 3 dnů stáří.
    Sources: VMD SPC · VMD
  • Warning (Cat)
    In the absence of available data, the veterinary medicinal product should not be used on kittens less than 8 weeks old and/or weighing less than 1 kg. Nepoužívat u koťat do 8 týdnů stáří. Puppies and kittens from 2 days of age may be safely treated.
    Sources: VMD SPC · VMD
  • Caution (Cat)
    The potential toxicity of the veterinary medicinal product for kittens of less than 8 weeks of age in contact with a treated queen is not documented. Special care should be taken in this case. Data are not available on treatment of pregnant queens or nursing queens. Přípravek může být podán chovným, březím i laktujícím kočkám.
    Sources: VMD SPC · VMD

All of this shows in vetman as you prescribe

The dose for the patient's weight, registration in Georgia and controlled status, right on the prescription.